The Agent Hunt Begins

It’s time for Raven to test his wings (pun so intended). With the help of friends and family, I believe I’ve polished the manuscript up as much as I can.

Compiling a list of agents to query, checking all their submission guidelines, scrolling queryshark to learn the dos and don’ts–it’s all starting to feel a lot like hunting for a job, which is one of the the most miserable things I’ve ever had to do.

It makes me want to retreat to a safer task, like sewing or knitting. Something where if I screw up nobody has to know, and I can always go back and fix it.

But that’s not going to get me published.

This last weekend I had the opportunity to help out with a conference for the teens in my congregation. The theme for the conference was Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

It seems I needed to hear that message as much as the kids did.

I can do hard things. I can face inevitable rejection.

Will Raven’s story get published? Maybe. Will I learn how to be a better and more professional author? Yes. Will my experiences help me get something else published someday? Definitely!

So I’m going to grit my teeth and send out those first queries–and try to keep things in perspective.

Happy Yarning!

7 thoughts on “The Agent Hunt Begins

  1. You can so do it. I’ve got an idea, keep all the reject letters, then when you finally do get published you can have a bonfire!

    Also, I’d like the updated version of your manuscript, please. I’ll make sure to actually read it this time and give you critiques. 🙂

    • I’ll send you draft five! As for the bonfire idea, that might be hard to do as most agents now communicate via email. I’d have to ask my husband to program me an e-bonfire or something…

      • Yay!
        Well, I guess you could print them all out and burn the physical copies, but a digital fire could be awesome too. 😀

  2. If you need another set of eyes to proof and help you edit, let me know! I’m still waiting on Crester to get back from the editor so I have a little bit of free time on my hands.

  3. Oh my gosh! This is so exciting! My July-Resolution is to get back on the horse and start querying again (right now I’ve only got one novel out, and I have a handful of others I should be starting on.) I’m sorry I never got around to reading it in time to give you feedback before this stage, but it’s still in my inbox and I’m hoping to get around to it this summer. When you inevitably find yourself knee-deep in rejection letters, shoot me a message and we will commiserate 😄 Good luck Julia, I have high hopes for this 🙂

Spin your yarn:

