Adventures with Linen: Long Seams

Sewing dresses by hand is all good fun until you get to the long seams.

IMG_4074

For my Anglo-Saxon linen underdress, I’m sewing the pieces together with a running stitch and then oversewing the seam allowances to prevent fraying.

IMG_4077

The shoulders and sleeves and gussets all came together pretty fast, but now I’m in the middle of sewing in the gores. Those are the tall triangles at the sides, which basically turn the dress from a long tube into something you can wear.

I’ve been watching movies to pass the time while I work on the gore seams. Lately I’ve been on a Danny Kaye kick. I watched both The Court Jester and White Christmas this week.

What do you do to keep your brain from frying on the long, boring parts of projects?

11 thoughts on “Adventures with Linen: Long Seams

    • 🙂 I thought about it, but I didn’t want the stitches from felling the seams to show up on the right side, and this was the only way I found (in my probably inadequate research) that avoided that.

Spin your yarn:

