Adventures With Linen: Why Buy Thread?

I’ve been wanting to sew some medieval garb using period materials for a long time, and I’m finally doing it!

I haven’t quite nailed down my persona yet, but I’m thinking Christian Anglo-Saxon. Between AD 800 and AD 1066?

Anyway, I forked out the cash for 100% linen and 100% wool cloth. Then I went looking for linen and wool thread. Not to be found at my fabric store. I supposed I’d have to order some online.

But of course yesterday I really wanted to begin making the underdress, and I had yet to order any thread. That’s when I remembered I’d just spent all that money on linen. I had linen.

Luckily I also happened to have a drop spindle and some wax on hand…

So now I’m making my own thread.

First I take pairs of long threads from the leftover fabric.

IMG_4056

Then I give them a bit of twist on my drop spindle.

IMG_4060

(Ok, ok, it’s a tahkli. But it’s like a drop spindle.)

Then I run them across a piece of wax.

IMG_4062

Et voila! “Free” linen thread.

IMG_4065

So far I’ve hand sewn the shoulder seams and one sleeve + gusset, and the thread hasn’t broken on me. I call this a success.

When I get to the point where I need wool thread for the overdress, I think I’ll spin it from some roving I have lying around, and then dye it with the same dye I’m using on the wool cloth.

Happy Yarning!

8 thoughts on “Adventures With Linen: Why Buy Thread?

    • This is actually the first time I’ve used it since I got my spinning wheel. I had to wind a whole lot of wool off of it and onto a pencil before I could start with the linen thread. But it’s perfect for this job.

  1. Your post goes to my theory that the re-enactment community are the ones doing the most interesting things in the world of textiles. That, and the cosplay people who do really innovative pattern drafting. I will look forward to following your progress.

Spin your yarn:

