Collaborative Writing

I thought a bit about collaborative writing back when I read Sorcery and Cecelia, Or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer. Lately I keep coming back around to the idea. Two members of one of my writing groups submitted a collaboratively written piece in our last session. Also, I recently helped my husband draft some things for work by taking dictation.

You see, my husband is great at brainstorming and developing stories, but he has a very hard time writing anything down. This is due in part to dysgraphia and probably also to lack of practice. I just keep thinking how great it would be if we could write a story together. Featherfolk is already a Frankenstein’s monster of my ideas and his ideas, but I think it would be wonderful to write something with him that contains my words and his words.

Have any of you done collaborative writing? What did you find worked/didn’t work?

Happy Yarning!

2 thoughts on “Collaborative Writing

  1. I know Darlene and I gave you some of what we do when we met on Friday but here’s a bit of things that do and don’t work for me.

    For things that work, when I’m feeling short on ideas, Darlene has some and when she’s short on ideas, I have some. We’re a team and we play really well off each other. Another thing that works is writing together daily. It doesn’t have to be for long, but it’s been great way for me to help her write consistently and it’s helped me in the same way because I’m excited to write together. Google docs are the best way that we’ve found to write together because you can both be on your computers and you can see when the other person is writing. It’s a way to work on it at the same time.

    On things that don’t work, don’t use a program to write together except Google docs because you both can’t work on. Darlene and I have tried forums to write together and it was frustrating if you wanted to find anything later. We copy and paste our stuff from Google docs into Scrivener and if we have a scene that needs reworking, we’ll bring it back in. So I’d suggest not trying to co-author something in a program other than Google docs.

    The best part about collaborative writing is that it’s a fun way to practice your writing skills. Have fun with it. In writing with Darlene, writing is play, editing is work :). Enjoy it!

  2. That’s the book I just gave Whitney to read!

    I have fun roleplaying. Roleplay can become super intense and addictive, though, but it’s a fantastic exercise.

    I tried a couple times when I was younger writing stories with friends. We would take turns writing chapters. With one friend we wrote from the same character & viewpoint. With the other friend we each had a viewpoint character. That one went farther.

    I’ve always wanted to write a story via letters like Sorcery and Cecilia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot.

    Mega brainstorming and riffing off each other is fun and productive as well.

Spin your yarn:

