The Weaving Bug

It must be that time of year. I caught the weaving bug.

I’m planning out an Anglo-Saxon undertunic for my husband, and I decided it’s time to do this right. I’m going to tablet weave some simple trim for the hems.

I haven’t done any serious tablet weaving since college, so I needed to refresh my skills and reacquaint myself with the glorious freeware program called Guntram’s Tabletweaving Thingy.

I’ve given a plug for GTT before, but seriously, this Guntram guy is an angel. With GTT, I save so much time and yarn and frustration by trying out different threading patterns and colors and weaving sequences before I warp anything.

For example, the bands below are a few of the possible designs I could weave with the exact same threaded tablets.

possible AS tabletweaving patterns

I prototyped each one virtually so my husband could pick out his favorite. (In case you’re wondering, he chose the center one.)

Now I’m ready to warp up.

Happy Weaving!

2 thoughts on “The Weaving Bug

Spin your yarn:

