Fun with Filet Crochet

So I know I said I wouldn’t start any more crochet projects until I finished my Hufflepuff scarf. In my defense, the scarf is almost finished.

Here’s my newest project:

wpid-wp-1437082733543.jpg

Filet crochet!

This is going to be a picture of the Provo Temple to hang on my wall.

Whenever I saw filet crochet in the past I assumed I didn’t have the patience for it. But I fell in love with a beautiful piece in Provo last month. I finally decided to give it a chance, and I’m surprised at how quickly it comes together.

Here’s the pattern I drew up.

provo pattern

I have crazy plans of piecing together different colored fabrics as a backing to look like sky and mountain behind the temple. We’ll see.

Anyway, my point is that filet crochet is actually kind of magical and not boring after all.

Happy Yarning!

Spin your yarn:

