Camp NaNoWriMo: The Home Stretch

Only a few days left in the month. It’s been great to get words out on the page with Featherfolk, and I’ve had fun and giggles with a flash fiction piece for a contest as well.

While I came out of the gate with a burst and stayed ahead of schedule most of the month, I’m stalling out. I’m agonizing over a pivotal scene. It’s so important that I get it right.

I think I need to give myself permission to tell it wrong. At least in this draft.

Here we go: “Julia, you can mess up. It’s okay. Just write something.”

Perhaps I should put a sticker with those words on my computer…

Because it’s time to gear up for the home stretch. I’ve promised myself some sweet Camp swag if I meet my goal.

I’m going to think of this last bit as a literal stretch. Yes, I’m running out of steam and my apartment is a sty and I’m moving in a month, and my baby just woke up again, but I can reach this goal!

Happy Yarning.

3 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: The Home Stretch

  1. That’s right! It’s the first draft. It’s allowed to stink! Maybe you could think of it as sketching out what you want the scene to be, or thumbnailing it for your next pass. Or coming up with the crochet pattern so you can stitch it out the next time through? I dunno. I thought about that this morning while walking to work. The scene I’m writing now is going to be so different when I type it up later in context. I’ve been having that happen with almost every other scene I’m transferring from paper to computer. Maybe I should write a post on that… anyways…
    YOU CAN DO IT!

Spin your yarn:

