Ripping Out

IMG_4260

I learned to crochet first. When I began knitting, I didn’t know I could use a crochet hook to fix mistakes several rows back. I thought that a purl, which should have been a knit, would remain forever a mistake, unless I was brave enough to try ripping out the last few rows (and by some miracle get all the loops back on the needle). I thought fixing mistakes in crocheting was easier, because after you rip back to the error, you have only one loop to pick up to start again.

Now I know better.

As I ripped out line after line of Tunisian crochet back to the place where I went from 24 to 23 stitches per row, I wished I was knitting.

Sometimes editing is like knitting. Sometimes there are things that can be fixed without taking a whole scene or a whole chapter apart.

Sometimes, editing is like crocheting. Rip out and redo.

I ripped Featherfolk down to the base chain when I started draft II.

Ah well, back to work.

Happy Yarning!

Spin your yarn:

