Why Sundays are important during NaNoWriMo

I don’t write on Sundays.

Not even during NaNoWriMo.

Mostly this is because of my belief in the sacredness of the Sabbath. I try to avoid any work outside of service to others, cooking meals, or necessary housecleaning. But last November I discovered something magical about not writing on Sundays.

It sounds like it would make NaNoWriMo harder, because it means writing 50,000 words in 26 days, not 30. But that’s where the magical thing happens. It makes it easier.

Once a week, I got a guilt-free day off. It didn’t matter how many thousands of words behind I was, I didn’t have to catch up that day. The weekly break allowed me freedom to renew my spiritual and creative juices. Yes, I had to plan on writing 1,923 words a day 6 days a week, instead of the usual 1,667, but it was a small price to pay to keep one day free from work and stress.

Whether or not you’re religious, this is my tip for making it through NaNoWriMo: pick a day and make it your “Sunday.”

 

Spin your yarn:

